Urban Open Space Award Jury

Members of the jury serve evaluating the ULI Urban Open Space Award and the ULI Awards for excellence, applying the same rigorous procedure for each these specific awards. Jury members are selected internationally to achieve regional balance and represent several facets of development expertise, including finance, architecture, land planning and development, public affairs, design, and professional services.

Jury members rotate through a three year service period, which guarantees a diverse and different jury each cycle with new points of view and experiences that reflect the broad expertise of the membership.

Jury Procedures

Jurors operate independently, applying the highest standards of evaluation and professional practice as reflected in the code of ethics of the Urban Land Institute. After an extensive awards briefing, each juror is assigned a specific number of submissions to review in advance of the first group meeting. During this first meeting each juror presents to the rest of the group their assigned submissions for debate, evaluation, and qualification. This process typically results in a first group of projects subject for a final round of evaluation. It is from this final session that the selected finalists emerge.

During the following months jurors are assigned to visit each finalist project for a closer evaluation on site, where they meet with those responsible for the success of each initiative. At least one juror visits each selected finalist. The goal is to gather a closer and profound insight into the operations of each project with a detailed understanding of aspects such as financial performance, community impact, development history, design elements, or urban design innovation.

The jury convenes in a second final meeting where they review each project again. The member of the jury that visited the project starts the debate with a brief presentation to the rest of group about the newly gathered insight. After a long day of deliberations the winner of the ULI Urban Open Space Award is selected

2014 Jurors

  • M. Leanne Lachman, jury chairman and president, Lachman Associates
  • Glenn Aaronson, managing partner, Aevitas Property Partners; chairman, Forum Turkey Fund
  • William Bonstra, partner, Bonstra Haresign Architects
  • Terrall Budge, principal and owner, Loci, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Michael Covarrubias, chairman and CEO, TMG Partners
  • David Dixon, principal/planning & urban design, Goody Clancy
  • Sujata S. Govada, managing director, UDP International
  • Jason Hellendrung, principal, Sasaki Associates
  • Jeff Kingsbury, managing principal, Greenstreet Ltd.
  • Jacinta McCann, executive vice president, AECOM
  • Steve Navarro, executive, Executive Vice President, CBRE
  • Trini M. Rodriguez, principal, Parker Rodriguez Inc.