Urban Open Space Award


“Each finalist encourages communities to stay and actively participate, enlivening their neighborhoods and tightening the fabric of their cities.”

M. Leanne Lachman,
jury chair

The Urban Open Space Award celebrates and promotes vibrant, successful urban open spaces by annually recognizing and rewarding an outstanding example of a public destination that has enriched and revitalized its surrounding community.

The award was created through the generosity of Amanda M. Burden, New York City planning commissioner and 2009 laureate of the ULI J.C. Nichols Prize for Visionaries in Urban Development.

In 2011, the Kresge Foundation, MetLife Foundation, and ULI Foundation joined forces to continue the ULI Urban Open Space Award.

2015 Finalists

Six finalist projects have been recognized in the global 2015 Urban Open Space Award competition.

The six were selected from an impressive collection of entries, representing urban areas from across the globe. The winning project is scheduled to be announced at the ULI Fall Meeting, set for October 5–8, 2015, in San Francisco, California. A $10,000 cash prize will be awarded to the individual or organization most responsible for the creation of the winning open space project.

The 2015 Urban Open Space Award finalists are:

2014 Winner

Klyde Warren Park, a 5.2–acre deck park built over a recessed freeway in Texas, was awarded the 2014 ULI Urban Open Space Award for bridging the downtown Dallas cultural district with burgeoning mixed-use neighborhoods, reshaping the city and catalyzing economic development.

Learn more about Klyde Warren Park and view all winners and finalists since 2010.

2016 Schedule

Applications open:
December 1, 2015

Submissions early-bird deadline:
January 22, 2016

Submissions final deadline:
February 22, 2016

Finalists announced:
May 2016

Site visits by jury representatives:
May–August 2016

Winners announced/award ceremony:
Fall Meeting in Dallas, Texas, October 25–28, 2016

For additional information, e-mail awards@uli.org.

About the Award

Image Gallery

 / 30