The Jury

Members of the ULI Awards Jury are selected internationally to achieve regional balance and represent several facets of development expertise, including finance, architecture, land planning and development, public affairs, design, and professional services.

Jury members rotate through a three-year service period, which guarantees a diverse and different jury each cycle with new points of view and experiences that reflect the broad expertise of the membership.

Jury Procedures
Jurors operate independently, applying the highest standards of evaluation and professional practice as reflected in the code of ethics of the Urban Land Institute. After an extensive awards briefing, each juror is assigned a specific number of submissions to review in advance of the first group meeting. During this first meeting, typically over the course of two days, each juror presents to the rest of the group his or her assigned submissions for debate, evaluation, and qualification. This process typically results in a first group of projects subject for a final round of evaluation. It is from this final session that the selected finalists emerge.

During the following months, jurors are assigned to visit each finalist project for a closer evaluation on site, where they meet with those responsible for the success of each initiative. At least one juror visits each selected finalist. The goal is to gather closer and profound insights into the operations of each project with a detailed understanding of aspects such as financial performance, community impact, development history, design elements, and building innovation.

The jury convenes in a second final meeting where they review each project again. The member of the jury who visited the project starts the debate with a brief presentation to the rest of group about the newly gathered insight. Typically after a long day of deliberations, the final group of ULI Awards for Excellence is selected.

2013 Jury Roster:

  • M. Leanne Lachman, jury chairman and president, Lachman Associates
  • Glenn Aaronson, managing partner, Aevitas Property Partners; chairman, Forum Turkey Fund
  • William Bonstra, partner, Bonstra Haresign Architects
  • Michael Covarrubias, chairman and CEO, TMG Partners
  • David Dixon, principal/planning & urban design, Goody Clancy
  • Sujata S. Govada, managing director, UDP International
  • Jason Hellendrung, principal, Sasaki Associates
  • Mark Johnson, president, Civitas Inc.
  • Jeff Kingsbury, managing principal, Greenstreet Ltd.
  • Jeff Mayer, director of international planning, Bassenian Lagoni
  • Jacinta McCann, executive vice president, AECOM
  • Trini M. Rodriguez, principal, Parker Rodriguez Inc.

2014 Awards

The Finalists for the 2014 Global Awards for Excellence will be announced in June.

After conducting the jury site visits, and completing additional evaluation of each project, the winners will be announced during the ULI Fall Meeting in New York, October 21-24. At this time the submission period for the 2015 cycle will open.

For additional information, please e-mail

Jurors Discuss the 2012 Global Awards Contest