Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Awards


Larson Awards show innovative approaches to how the public sector is addressing the growing affordable housing crises in cities.

Ali Solis, Terwilliger Center national advisory board member and Senior Vice President of Public Policy and Corporate Affairs at Enterprise Community Partners

The Robert C. Larson Housing Policy Leadership Awards recognize exemplary state and local programs, policies, and practices that support the production, rehabilitation, or preservation of affordable and workforce housing. States and localities can undertake a broad range of policy and administrative initiatives to support housing affordability. This can take the form of regulatory or administrative changes such as higher densities and waivers of fees, or programs that provide grants or financing assistance.

Starting in 2014 the Robert C. Larson Awards recognized innovative state and local policy initiatives that provide ongoing and sustainable support for affordable and workforce housing. Specifically, these policies support the creation and preservation of housing affordable to households earning below 120 percent of area median income (AMI). Previously, only policy initiatives serving those earning 60-120 percent AMI were eligible.

Register for the 2015 Awards

Applicants are judged on on a number of criteria, including:

  • Impact on the supply of affordable or workforce housing;
  • Comprehensiveness of the tools and programs employed by the state and/or locality;
  • Use of innovative strategies and tools by the state and/or locality;
  • Involvement of public/private partnerships;
  • Ability to leverage private and nonprofit funds;
  • Quality of the housing resulting from these efforts;
  • Incorporation of sustainable green construction and land development, as well as the demonstrated cost effectiveness of these efforts;
  • Extent to which the housing resulting from these efforts is located near major employment centers and/or transportation hubs; and
  • Extent to which the efforts of the jurisdiction are worthy of replication.

Previous Robert C. Larson Workforce Housing Public Policy Award Winners

2015 Schedule

Applications open: November 17, 2014
Submissions deadline: March 16, 2015
Finalists announced: May/June, 2015
Site visits by jury rep: June-August 2015
Winners Announced: Fall Meeting in San Francisco, October 6-9, 2015

For more information, email

2014 Finalists