Jack Kemp Excellence in Affordable and Workforce Housing Awards

"The six finalists for this year’s ULI Kemp Award show that mixed-income housing is achievable in a wide range of markets, with benefits for neighborhoods as well as residents."

Stockton Williams, executive director, ULI Terwilliger Center for Housing

About the Award

ULI’s Jack Kemp Excellence in Affordable and Workforce Housing Awards, established in 2008 and named in memory of Jack Kemp, former secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, recognize exemplary developments that demonstrate creativity in expanding housing opportunities for America’s working families.

The Jack Kemp Awards honor developments that meet affordable and workforce housing needs and help to create mixed-income communities of opportunity.  The award focuses on developments that serve households earning up to 120 percent of area median income (AMI).




2016 Finalists

The 2016 Jack Kemp Excellence in Affordable and Workforce Housing Awards finalists are:

2015 Winner

Charlesview Residences and Town Homes at Brighton Mills in Brighton, Massachusetts, was selected as the recipient of the 2015 Jack Kemp Excellence in Affordable and Workforce Housing Award. Home to 260 Boston families of all incomes, the 28-building, five-city-block development includes 25,000 square feet of vibrant commercial and community space, along with rental apartments and for-sale middle-income town homes.

Award Applications

Potential applicants can review the eligibility and criteria for the award and learn more about the previous winners and finalists. Details are also available on the application process.

2016 Schedule

Applications open:
December 1, 2015

Submissions early-bird deadline:
January 22, 2016

Submissions final deadline:
February 22, 2016

Finalists announced:
May 2016

Site visits by jury representatives:
May–August 2016

Winners announced/award ceremony:
Fall Meeting in Dallas, Texas, October 25–28, 2016

For more information, e-mail


2015 Finalists

Image Gallery

 / 15